Effective July 1, 2021, Virginia joins the District of Columbia and many other states with paid leave for designated workers (Virginia’s Paid Sick Leave Law), home health workers in this case. Paid sick leave is compensated at the same hourly rate and with the same benefits, including healthcare benefits, as an employee normally earns during hours worked.  The law provides home health workers averaging at least 20 hours per week or 90 hours per month with paid sick leave. Read our full article for analysis of the new law and next steps for employers.