On July 19, 2022, the Michigan Court of Claims held that, in 2018, the state legislature violated the Michigan Constitution when it enacted, and within the same legislative session amended, two ballot initiatives, one to raise the minimum wage and the other to require employers to provide paid sick leave. Now, citing public concerns over

Citing legislative “sleight of hand,” the Michigan Court of Claims has held that the Michigan legislature violated the state’s Constitution when, in 2018, it adopted and then immediately amended ballot initiatives to increase the state’s minimum wage and to require employer-paid sick leave. Mothering Justice v. Nessel, No. 21-000095-MM (July 19, 2022). Therefore, the

The City of Bloomington, Minnesota is the latest city in Minnesota to join the cities of Minneapolis, St. Paul and Duluth in enacting an Earned Sick and Safe Leave ordinance (ORDINANCE NO. 2022-31). The Ordinance, which largely mirrors the requirements of the City of Minneapolis’ Sick and Safe Time Ordinance goes into effect

The New Mexico Healthy Workplaces Act (“NMHWA”) requires all private employers in New Mexico to provide all employees one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Employees may use up to 64 hours of earned sick leave per the employer’s defined 12-month period. Employees will be able to use earned sick leave

On March 10, 2022, Philadelphia Mayor Jim Kenney signed a new ordinance expanding COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave (SPSL) until 2023.

The following are answers that employers need to their questions regarding the latest edition of Philadelphia’s SPSL.

When does SPSL become effective?

SPSL became effective on March 9, 2022.

How long will SPSL be

On February 28, 2022, the Executive Office for Administration and Finance sent official notice to employers that the program established in May 2021 would be ending on March 15, 2022. Employers must continue to offer leave to eligible employees through March 15. (For program details, see our article, Massachusetts Employers Must Provide Up to 40

On February 19, 2022, the newest statewide COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave took effect.

California’s Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) has published an FAQ Page to provide guidance regarding COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave (SPSL).

The new FAQ page covers questions pertaining to the following:

  • Reasons for Taking Leave
  • Start Date and End Date

Most employees in San Francisco (and throughout California)  receive one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked.  The San Francisco Board of Supervisors is now considering an ordinance that would broaden the availability of paid sick leave to domestic workers by establishing a “portable” paid sick leave system.

The “Domestic Workers’ Equal

The temporary COVID-19 Massachusetts emergency paid sick leave (MA EPSL) has been extended through April 1, 2022.

In spring 2021, Massachusetts established a statewide mandate for employers to temporarily provide employees up to 40 hours of MA EPSL when they are unable to work due to specific qualifying reasons related to the pandemic. The law