Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont has signed a new law that will expand the circumstances in which service workers in Connecticut can use state-mandated paid sick leave. The new law goes into effect October 1, 2023.
Since its original passage in 2012, the Connecticut Paid Sick Leave Law has provided a defined set of “service workers” with certain leave entitlements, including paid sick leave accrual at a rate of one hour for every 40 hours worked, up to a maximum accrual of 40 hours per year. The law also required that service workers be permitted to roll over at least 40 hours of accrued, unused paid sick leave per calendar year.
Learn more here.